Steering Committee Members

The development of the Nunavut Inuit Heritage Centre is being led by Inuit Heritage Trust (IHT), one of five Inuit organizations established under the Nunavut Agreement. IHT is responsible for the preservation, enrichment and protection of Inuit cultural heritage and identity, with a focus on archaeology, ethnography, and traditional place names. IHT operates in respect for traditional knowledge and the wisdom of our Elders. The other four Designated Inuit Organizations are the territory-wide Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI), and the three Regional Inuit Associations: Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA), Kitikmeot Inuit Association (KitIA), and the Kivalik Inuit Association (KivIA). The Government of Nunavut (GN) is also represented on the Steering Committee because the government owns, or co-owns parts of the collection; the NIHC will support a number of territorial government priorities including, education, health, justice, tourism, etc. 


Executive Director, IHT, Chair

William Beveridge


Kilikvak Kabloona

Director of Implementation, NTI

Pacome Lloyd

Assistant Director Policy and Planning, NTI

Tim Brown

Infrastructure Analyst, NTI

Christy Sinclair

Assistant Executive Director, QIA

Romeyn Stevenson

A/Executive Director, Operations & Benefits, QIA

Matthew Hamp

Senior Director Inuit Relations, QIA

Virginia Mearns

Director Social and Cultural Development, KitIA

Sarah Jancke


Charlene Williams-Kaludjak

Director of Heritage, GN

Caroline Whittle

Director of Planning, IHT

Catherine C. Cole

Director of Projects, IHT

Torsten Diesel